Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Music

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=music&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Finding Music Specific Materials
Different music materials can be found by using the "Narrow Your Search" function on the right hand side of the results screen.  This is especially helpful when searching for music scores or music recordings.


Browsing
Music materials are located in call numbers M, ML and MT on the 4000 level.  To browse the music shelves, consult the chart below.

M --   Printed Music (mostly scores)
ML -- Literature on Music
MT -- Instruction and Study
 
M 5-1480 Instrumental Music
M 1495-2199 Vocal Music
   
ML 47-54.8  Librettos. Texts. Scenarios
ML 100-109  Dictionaries. Encyclopedias
ML 112-112.5 Music Printing and Publishing
ML 162-197   Music by period (Baroque, Classical, etc.)
ML 198-360.6  Music by region or country
ML 385-429 Biography
ML 3469-3541 Popular Music
ML 3544-3776 Folk, national, and ethnic music
   
MT 5-7  Music Theory
MT 40-67 Composition. Elements and techniques of music
MT 85 Conducting. Score reading and playing
MT 170-810 Instrumental Technique
MT 820-915 Singing and Vocal Technique
MT 918-948 School Music
MT 955-956 Musical Theater

                       
Recordings
CDs are located on the 4000 level of Booth Library.  There is also a large collection of LPs in storage that can be requested at any service desk.

Learning Technology Services (LTS) on the 4000 level of Booth Library has facilities to help with music listening.  Equipment includes a LP turntable, two Yamaha electronic keyboards and several computers for audio playback.
Web Resources



             



       
        National Jukebox
The College Music Society
             


         

IBDB: Internet Broadway Database





 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Bill Schultz

Bill Schultz
Cataloging Librarian and Interim Head of University Archives and Special Collections
wnschultz@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-8457


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk

Need More Help?
Each librarian at Booth Library is responsible for various subject areas. The librarian responsible for Music is Bill Schultz, Jr.  He can be contacted through email at wnschultz@eiu.edu
Search Terms
These are helpful search terms to use when searching for music resources.  You can substitute terms to fit your research needs (i.e. Concertos (Clarinet) can be turned into Concertos (Horn) or Concertos (Violin)

Concertos (Clarinet)
Folk songs, French
Jews -- Music
Lutheran Church -- Hymns
Music -- China
Music by African American Composers
Opera -- France
Piano -- History
Songs (high voice) with piano
Songs (low voice) with piano
Journals and Databases
The databases below will be the most useful in assisting with music research.  Browse individual music journals here

Academic Search Complete
Broad interdisciplinary database
Chicago Tribune (Historical)
Great source to use to search for music concert reviews from 1849-1990.
Grove Music Online
The most comprehensive reference for all aspects of music.  Over 29,000 articles on music, musical instruments and musicians from the past and present.  This is a good starting point for all music research.
Humanities International Complete
Broad interdisciplinary database
IPA Sources
International Phoenetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
JSTOR
Peer reviewed articles from a broad range of disciplines in the Humanities, Social Science & Field Sciences
Music Index Online
Contains surveyed data from more than 725 international music periodicals from over 40 countries in 23 languages.  Along with RILM, it is a go-to database for music research.
New York Times (Historical)
Full text searching of the New York Times newspaper from 1851-2010
Project MUSE
Interdisciplinary database for Humanities and Arts
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music as well as music-related disciplines.  Dating from 1967 through the present, this database offers indexing of sources published in over 140 languages.
Springer eBooks: Humanities, Social Sciences and Law
Full-text e-books and chapters published from 2005-2014
Times (London) Digital Archive
Another good source to use for historical music reviews dating from 1785-1985.