Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Music Education

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=musiced&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Finding Articles
Databases
Use the databases below to help find articles relating to music education.  If you're not sure what words to search, try out some of the search term combinations on the right.

Academic Search Complete
This scholarly collection offers citation level indexing and unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study (1887 to present).

ERIC
Citations and abstracts for published and unpublished reports and journal articles on educational topics. Some fulltext journal articles available (1966 to present).

JSTOR
Digital archive of peer-reviewed academic journals

Music Index Online
The Music Index is the single most comprehensive annual subject-author guide to music literature. Published since 1949, The Music Index contains surveyed data from more than 725 international music periodicals from over 40 countries in 23 languages.

Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of over 515 full text journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles.

PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 45,000 articles from 57 journals - 46 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1985 to present.

PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts of articles, dissertations, and technical reports on all areas of psychology (1887 to present). Some fulltext journal articles available.

RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is an international bibliography of scholarly writings on music as well as music-related disciplines. Dating from 1967 through the present, this database offers indexing of sources published in over 140 languages.

Springer eBooks: Education
Search and read over 700 full-text books on education. (2005-2014)

Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.
Web Resources
Subject Specialist
Picture: Bill Schultz

Bill Schultz
Cataloging Librarian and Interim Head of University Archives and Special Collections
wnschultz@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-8457


Picture: Alyson Vaaler

Alyson Vaaler
Night Circulation Librarian
avaaler@eiu.edu
Office: 217 549-1936


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk

Need More Help?
Each librarian at Booth Library is responsible for various subject areas. The librarian  responsible for Music is Dr. Allen Lanham.  He can be contacted at aklanham@eiu.edu
Finding Books
Search the EIU Online Catalog
Search for books on the EIU Library Catalog  Try using the search terms above to find sources.  Limit results under the "Narrow Search" section.  This will help locate music specific items such as scores and recordings.




All music resources have call numbers M, ML and MT.  They are located on the 4000 Level.  General education sources are located in call numbers L through LT on the 2000 Level.
Selected Print Resources
All of these resources can be found on the 4000 level of Booth Library in the southeast corner. 
 
Book Cover Artful-Playful-Mindful: A New Orff-Schulwerk Curriculum for Music Making and Music Thinking

MT26 .F73 2012
 
Book Cover Conducting and Rehearsing the Instrumental Music Ensemble: Scenarios, Priorities, Strategies, Essentials, and Repertoire

MT85 .C73 2012
 
Book Cover
Dictionary of Music Education

ML102 .M76 C65 2013
 
Book Cover
Engaging Musical Practices: A Sourcebook for Middle School General Music

MT1 .E485 2012
 
Book Cover
From the Stage to the Studio: How Fine Musicians Become Great Teachers

MT1 .W37 2011
 
Book Cover
Music Fundamentals, Methods, and Materials for the Elementary Classroom Teacher

MT1 .R85 2012
 
Book Cover The Music Teaching Artist’s Bible: Becoming a Virtuoso Educator

MT1 .B6835 2009
 
Book Cover The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy in Music Education   

MT1 .O94 2012