Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Peer Review :: Is this Article Peer Reviewed?

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=peerrev&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

What is a scholarly article for FCS?
Scholarly Research Articles in FCS Disciplines

Scholarly  articles are written by academic researchers and professionals such as nutritionists, engineers, therapists, and others with advanced degrees or professional licenses.   There will often be more than one author.  The university, company, or institution the authors are affiliated with will usually be listed.

The intended audience for scholarly articles is other reserachers and professionals. Expect to see special terms and words and complex sentence structure. Scholarly articles are generally more than four pages long. In nearly all cases, there will be charts, graphs, or tables in the article. Almost all scholarly articles will begin with an abstract that gives a summary of the article. Scholarly articles will always cite sources and have a bibliography at the end.
Peer reviewed/Refereed research articles:
Peer reviewed/Refereed research articles:

These are scholarly articles that have been reviewed by a panel of respected experts in the same field as the author(s). The author's identity is generally hidden from the reviewers. Refereed and Peer Reviewed mean the same thing.

In most journals, the words "peer reviewed" will not appear on the article.  However, if you see a line similar to
"received 1/1/2011, accepted 2/2/2012"
the dates most likely refer to when the article was submitted for review and when it was accepted for publication.  This indicates a peer-reviewed article.
Things that are not research articles:
Letters to the editor, book reviews, news items, and other short works without citations may be published in a journal that includes peer reviewed articles, but these types of writing are not likely to be considered peer reviewed articles by your instructor. 
Use the checklist below to decide if you have a peer reviewed research article.
 
Limiting to Peer Reviewed in a Database


Limiting to Peer Reviewed articles in a Database


The databases listed below include articles on FCS-related topics.  When you click on a link, a new window will open showing a list of databases, including the one you selected. Click the button to enter that database and look for a check box (like the two pictured below) that allow you to limit your results. Check the option you have available, either "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" or "Peer Reviewed." Your search results will then be limited to articles from peer-reviewed journals*.

Be aware that sometimes you will still have things in your results that are not research articles, like book reviews and letters to the editor.



  

Academic Search Complete
Applied Science and Technology Fulltext (textiles)
Business Source Elite
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (health)
Communication & Mass Media Complete
ERIC/EBSCO (education)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
MasterFILE Premier (all subjects)
PsycInfo (psychology)
Social Sciences Abstracts
SPORTDiscus (physical education)

*Be sure to use the Scholarly Article Checklist below to evaluate the articles you find.

 
 
Scholarly Article Checklist

Is the article you found scholarly or peer reviewed?


‚Äč Use the checklist to find out.
  Article is more than 3 pages long
  There is an author or authors listed
  Each author's institutional affiliation is listed
  Author's degrees or credentials are listed. Example: PhD, RD, MD, BSN, MS

Article has these sections:
Abstract
Literature Review
Methodology
Results
Conclusion
References
 
  There are footnotes
  There is a chart
  There is a graph
  There is a table
  There is a formula

  I found a word I had to look up
  I had to re-read a sentence twice


 

If you are still uncertain after using the checklist, ask a librarian. The Reference Desk is open during library hours. You can also call us at 217 581-6072.