Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

GEG 1100 :: Cultural Geography (Dr. Smith)

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=smithcultgeo&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Guidelines for Millennium Group Project
The United Nations Millennium Development Goals presentation assignment requires you to research statistics, graphs and maps related to one of the development goals listed below.

For each goal you will find "targets" and indicators" quoted from the UN MDG site. Search Booth Library resources for the terms used in the targets and indicators. A sample search link or links has been provided for each goal. The information you need is less likely to be available from general web sites or media or commercial pages which predominate the results from search engines like google, yahoo or bing.

Assignment Guidelines docx

Contact Booth Reference Librarians with questions about the resources. Kirstin Duffin and Steve Brantley created this guide. 
Contact Professor Smith (besmith@eiu.edu) with questions about the assignment.
 
You can find this guide at this URL: (http://) booth.eiu.edu/smith-un-mdg
Journal Articles
 
To find journal articles on your topic, start in the Academic Search Complete database, and add relevant subject-specific databases depending on your topic. See "All databases" for access to each of the databases listed below. 

Economics and Social Sciences databases (these may be helpful for all topics)
- Business Source Elite
- EconLit
- Social Sciences Abstracts

Education databases
- ERIC
- Professional Development Collection

Health databases
- CINAHL Plus
- Consumer Health Complete
- Health Source - Consumer Edition
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Environmental databases (these may be helpful for all topics)
- Environment Complete
- GreenFILE

In the advanced search screen, scroll down to view additional Search Options and select "Graphs" and "Maps," as in the screenshot below:



Try using search terms like "Millennium Development Goals" and Poverty. Think of synonyms to broaden your results: Hunger or Malnutrition or Malnourishment or Undernourishment. Another example is Maternal Health, which may yield results with terms like Prenatal Care or Postnatal Care or Obstetrics. Searching key concepts using "quotation marks" will assure the words appear together as a phrase and will return fewer, but more accurate results. Spelling matters! Typos will retrieve fewer or no results.

Add the search term Statistics to return articles that include this type of quantitative data. You might deselect (uncheck) the boxes limiting results to Graph and Map at this time, in order to increase your search results.




Quick Search:
 
More on statistics
In addition to the search strategies for statistics highlighted above, check out the U.N. Millennium Development Goals webpage on statistics for additional resources including the MDG indicators, UN Data Portal, and UNICEF Monitoring & Statisitcs


The Millenium Development Goals Report 2014 includes statistics and graphs for each goal.
Goal 1
goal one imageGoal 1: Eradicate Extreme Hunger and Poverty

Target 1. Halve, between 1990 and 2015, the proportion of people whose income is less than $1 a day
Indicators
1. Proportion of population below $1 (1993 PPP) per day (World Bank)
2. Poverty gap ratio [incidence x depth of poverty] (World Bank)
3. Share of poorest quintile in national consumption (World Bank)
Target 2. Halve, between 1990 and 2015, the proportion of people who suffer from hunger
Indicators
4. Prevalence of underweight children under five years of age (UNICEF-WHO)
5. Proportion of population below minimum level of dietary energy consumption (FAO)

Sample Search: 
"world bank" AND (hunger OR poverty) published since 2000 
 
Goal 2
image of goal 2Goal 2: Achieve Universal Primary Education

Target 3. Ensure that, by 2015, children everywhere, boys and girls alike, will be able to complete a full course of primary schooling
Indicators
6. Net enrollment ratio in primary education (UNESCO)
7. Proportion of pupils starting grade 1 who reach grade 5 (UNESCO)
8. Literacy rate of 15-24 year-olds (UNESCO)
Sample Searches: 
primary education enrollment published since 2000
girls primary education published since 2000
Goal 3
image of goal 3​ Goal 3: Promote Gender Equality and Empower Women

Target 4. Eliminate gender disparity in primary and secondary education, preferably by 2005, and in all levels of education no later than 2015
Indicators
9. Ratio of girls to boys in primary, secondary and tertiary education (UNESCO) 
10. Ratio of literate women to men, 15-24 years old (UNESCO)
11. Share of women in wage employment in the non-agricultural sector (ILO) 
12. Proportion of seats held by women in national parliament (IPU)
Sample Searches: 
women equality worldwide published since 2000
subject search: Women's rights cross-cultural studies 
gender equality world published since 2000 
gender equality world in Subject: Social Sciences, published since 2000
Goal 4
image of goal 4Goal 4: Reduce Child Mortality

Target 5. Reduce by two-thirds, between 1990 and 2015, the under-five mortality rate
Indicators
13. Under-five mortality rate (UNICEF-WHO)
14. Infant mortality rate (UNICEF-WHO)
15. Proportion of 1 year-old children immunized against measles (UNICEF-WHO)

Sample Search: 
"infant mortality" AND global OR worldwide OR developing published since 2000
 
Goal 5
image of goal 5​ Goal 5: Improve Maternal Health

Target 6. Reduce by three-quarters, between 1990 and 2015, the maternal mortality ratio
Indicators
16. Maternal mortality ratio (UNICEF-WHO)
17. Proportion of births attended by skilled health personnel (UNICEF-WHO)

Sample Searches:
"maternal mortality AND global OR worldwide OR developing published since 2000
"maternal health" AND global OR worldwide OR developing published since 2000
Goal 6
image of goal 6​ Goal 6: Combat HIV/AIDS, Malaria and Other Diseases

Target 7. Have halted by 2015 and begun to reverse the spread of HIV/AIDS 
Indicators
18. HIV prevalence among pregnant women aged 15-24 years (UNAIDS-WHO-UNICEF) 
19. Condom use rate of the contraceptive prevalence rate (UN Population Division)
19a. Condom use at last high-risk sex (UNICEF-WHO)
19b. Percentage of population aged 15-24 years with comprehensive correct knowledge of HIV/AIDS (UNICEF-WHO)
19c. Contraceptive prevalence rate (UN Population Division)
20. Ratio of school attendance of orphans to school attendance of non-orphans aged 10-14 years (UNICEF-UNAIDS-WHO)
Target 8. Have halted by 2015 and begun to reverse the incidence of malaria and other major diseases
Indicators
21. Prevalence and death rates associated with malaria (WHO)
22. Proportion of population in malaria-risk areas using effective malaria prevention and treatment measures (UNICEF-WHO)
23. Prevalence and death rates associated with tuberculosis (WHO)
24. Proportion of tuberculosis cases detected and cured under DOTS (internationally recommended TB control strategy) (WHO)

Sample Searches:
global AND HIV OR malaria published since 2000
global AND HIV OR malaria, in Topic: AIDS (disease) published since 2000
global AND HIV OR malaria, in Topic: Government policy published since 2000
global AND HIV OR malaria, in Subject area: Medicine published since 2000
global AND HIV OR malaria, in Subject: Social Science published since 2000
HIV OR malaria AND "developing countries" published since 2000
Goal 7
image of goal 7​ Goal 7: Ensure Environmental Sustainability

Target 9. Integrate the principles of sustainable development into country policies and programs and reverse the loss of environmental resources

Indicators
25. Proportion of land area covered by forest (FAO)
26. Ratio of area protected to maintain biological diversity to surface area (UNEP-WCMC)
27. Energy use (kg oil equivalent) per $1 GDP (PPP) (IEA, World Bank)
28. Carbon dioxide emissions per capita (UNFCCC, UNSD) and consumption of ozone-depleting CFCs (ODP tons) (UNEP-Ozone Secretariat)
29. Proportion of population using solid fuels (WHO)
Target 10. Halve, by 2015, the proportion of people without sustainable access to safe drinking water and basic sanitation
Indicators
30. Proportion of population with sustainable access to an improved water source, urban and rural (UNICEF-WHO)
31. Proportion of population with access to improved sanitation, urban and rural (UNICEF-WHO)
Target 11. Have achieved by 2020 a significant improvement in the lives of at least 100 million slum dwellers
Indicators
32. Proportion of households with access to secure tenure (UN-HABITAT)

Sample Searches:
"sustainable development" AND "developing countries" published since 2000
"water resources OR sanitation AND "developing countries" published since 2000
 
Goal 8
image of goal 8​ Goal 8: Develop a Global Partnership for Development

Target 12. Develop further an open, rule-based, predictable, nondiscriminatory trading and financial system (includes a commitment to good governance, development, and poverty reduction?both nationally and internationally)

Target 13. Address the special needs of the Least Developed Countries (includes tariff- and quota-free access for Least Developed Countries? exports, enhanced program of debt relief for heavily indebted poor countries [HIPCs] and cancellation of official bilateral debt, and more generous official development assistance for countries committed to poverty reduction)
Target 14. Address the special needs of landlocked developing countries and small island developing states (through the Program of Action for the Sustainable Development of Small Island Developing States and 22nd General Assembly provisions)
Target 15. Deal comprehensively with the debt problems of developing countries through national and international measures in order to make debt sustainable in the long term
Indicators
Official development assistance (ODA)
33. Net ODA, total and to LDCs, as percentage of OECD/Development Assistance Committee (DAC) donors' gross national income (GNI)(OECD)
34. Proportion of total bilateral, sector-allocable ODA of OECD/DAC donors to basic social services (basic education, primary health care, nutrition, safe water and sanitation) (OECD)
35. Proportion of bilateral ODA of OECD/DAC donors that is untied (OECD)
36. ODA received in landlocked developing countries as a proportion of their GNIs (OECD)
37. ODA received in small island developing States as proportion of their GNIs (OECD) Market access
38. Proportion of total developed country imports (by value and excluding arms) from developing countries and from LDCs, admitted free of duty (UNCTAD, WTO, WB)
39. Average tariffs imposed by developed countries on agricultural products and textiles and clothing from developing countries (UNCTAD, WTO, WB)
40. Agricultural support estimate for OECD countries as percentage of their GDP (OECD)
41. Proportion of ODA provided to help build trade capacity (OECD, WTO) Debt sustainability
42. Total number of countries that have reached their Heavily Indebted Poor Countries Initiative (HIPC) decision points and number that have reached their HIPC completion points (cumulative) (IMF - World Bank) 
43. Debt relief committed under HIPC initiative (IMF-World Bank)
44. Debt service as a percentage of exports of goods and services (IMF-World Bank)

Some of the indicators listed below are monitored separately for the least developed countries, Africa, landlocked developing countries, and small island developing states
Target 16. In cooperation with developing countries, develop and implement strategies for decent and productive work for youth

Indicators
45. Unemployment rate of young people aged 15-24 years, each sex and total (ILO) 
Target 17. In cooperation with pharmaceutical companies, provide access to affordable essential drugs in developing countries
Indicators
46. Proportion of population with access to affordable essential drugs on a sustainable basis (WHO)
Target 18. In cooperation with the private sector, make available the benefits of new technologies, especially information and communications technologies
Indicators
47. Telephone lines and cellular subscribers per 100 population (ITU)
48. Personal computers in use per 100 population and Internet users per 100 population (ITU)

Sample Searches:
"least developed countries" published since 2000
unemployment AND "developing countries" published since 2000
"debt relief" AND  "developing countries" published since 2000
"agricultural development" AND "developing countries" published since 2000
"communication technology" AND "developing countries" published since 2000
"information technology" AND "developing countries" published since 2000
credits
Kirstin Duffin - Steve Brantley - 9/14