Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Statistics Resources

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=stats&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Agriculture
U.S. Department of Agriculture

Agricultural Statistics
Published each year to meet the diverse need for a reliable reference book on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.

Census of Agriculture
The Census of Agriculture is the leading source of facts and figures about American agriculture. Conducted every five years, the Census provides a detailed picture of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them.

Cropscape
Areas of specific cropland since 1997, from the USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service. Metadata for Cropscape is available here.

National Agricultural Statistical Service

Production | Supplies of food and fiber | Prices paid and received by farmers | Farm labor and wages | Farm finances | Chemical use | Demographics 
Business
International Monetary Fund eLibrary Data
Data and Statistics | International Finance | Domestic Finance | Economics | International Payments | Inflation | Exchange Rates | Interest rates | Banking | Prices | Production

Marketline Company Profiles (Through Business Source Elite)
Provides company information| History | Description | Revenue analysis | SWOT analysis | Products and Services
screen capture image

Follow links to Marketline Company Profiles from the Business Source Elite home page






Mergent FIS
US company data | International company data | Annual reports

Morningstar Investment Research Center (Please log out of this resource when you finish)
Real-time access to data | Independent analysis | Stocks| Mutual funds | Exchange-traded funds | Closed-end funds

Plunkett Research Online 
Business and industry data| Market research and trends| Company profiles

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Industry surveys | Stock Reports | Mutual fund/ETF reports | Bond reports| Corporation records
Crime

Crime in Illinois
Crime offenses include the categories of criminal homicide, rape, robbery, aggravated battery/aggravated assault, burglary, theft, motor vehicle theft, arson, and human trafficking commercial sex acts and human trafficking involuntary servitude.

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics
United States Government Information | Statistics | Criminal Justice | Crime | Capital Punishment | Prisons | Domestic Violence

Uniform Crime Reports
The starting place for law enforcement executives, students of criminal justice, researchers, members of the media, and the public at large seeking information on crime in the nation.
Demographics
American FactFinder
Access data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.

Illinois County Databook, 7th edition, 2013
This reference collects in one place the major demographic, economic, and political statistics for each county.

Illinois County Databook, 6th edition, 2002
This reference collects in one place the major demographic, economic, and political statistics for each county.

U.S. Census Bureau
U. S. Government Information | Statistics | Population Clock | Health | Housing | Economic Indicators | Economic Census | Employment | Foreign & Domestic Trade

Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
 Legal immigration | Immigration Enforcement Actions

Data and statistical sources for Rural America
Illinois State and Federal sources of statistics on rural health, agriculture, and education
Economics & Finance
International Monetary Fund eLibrary Data
Data and Statistics | International Finance | Domestic Finance | Economics | International Payments | Inflation | Exchange Rates | Interest rates | Banking | Prices | Production

OECD Statistics
Statistics on member countries belonging to the OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development).

Budget of the United States
Budget and Analysis | Budget Message of the President

Economic Research Service
Economics of Agriculture & Related Fields

Statistics of Income & Tax Statistics
U. S. Government Information | Statistics | Tables, Articles & Data | U. S. Tax System

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
U. S. Government Information | Statistics | U. S. Economy at a Glance | Gross Domestic Product | Consumer Spending | Balance of Payments | GDP by State & Metropolitan Area | State & Local Area Personal Income
Education
Chronicle of Higher Education : Facts & Figures
Higher Education | Statistics | Information | Trends

National Center for Education Statistics
U. S. Government Information | Statistics | Condition of Education | Digest of Education Statistics | High School Dropout & Completion Rates | Indicators of School Crime | Projections of Education Statistics

National Center for Science & Engineering Statistics
Research and development | Science and engineering workforce | Condition and progress of STEM education | U.S. competitiveness in science, engineering, technology, and R&D

U.S. Department of Education
This site is a good place to start for any kind of government information on education (statistics, grants, publications, etc.)
Energy
Renewable Fuels Association
An industry perspective on renewable fuel production with special focus on ethanol. Access information on state and federal legislation and regulation of ethanol`s market use. Browse industry resources, including industry statistics and market opportunities. Visit the Resource Center for further information about ethanol manufacture and use. The Media Center features news about ethanol in print, audio, and visual formats.

U.S. Energy Information Administration
U. S. Government Information | Statistics | Energy Consumption | Fossil Fuels | Natural Gas | Nuclear Power | Renewable Energy | Electricity

Science & Engineering Indicators
Biennial report to Congress provides a broad base of quantitative information about U.S. science, engineering, and technology
Geospatial and GIS Data
Also see the GIS (Geographic Information System) research guide
 

Illinois GIS Data

Illinois Natural Resources Geospatial Data Clearinghouse
Access Illinois GIS data sets and documentation (metadata) for ArcIMS Interactive Map Services, USGS digital topographic maps, aerial photography, orthoimagery, orthophotography, geology, land use, natural resources, and infrastructure.

Coles County GIS
From the Coles County Regional Planning & Development Commission.
 

Federal GIS Data

U.S. Census Bureau
American FactFinder
Access data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.

TIGER/Line Shapefiles Data
Cartographic boundary files for states, counties, and smaller census enumeration units, with additional base data including roads and streams. To access the data, select a year, then click Download and choose "Web interface."

TIGER/Line Shapefiles pre-joined with Demographic Data
A limited set of TIGER/Line Shapefiles are available pre-joined with data in geodatabase and shapefile format.

Historical Census Data (National Historical Geographic Information System - NHGIS)
Summary statistics and GIS boundary files for U.S. censuses and other nationwide surveys from 1790 through the present.


Federal Highway Administration
GIS Data
Highways and bridges. Also contains links to many other federal GIS data sources.


U.S. Geological Survey
National Map Small-Scale Collection
Commonly used base data for the United States.


Other
Geoplatform Data
Searches a comprehensive catalog of government data maintained by Data.gov and only returns geospatial data. GeoPlatform was developed by the member agencies of the Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) through collaboration with partners and stakeholders.

Data.gov
The U.S. Government's open data at the federal, state, and local levels.
Health
Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Information and statistics on health, disease, disabilities, and genetics.

HCUPnet
This system is based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.

Health, United States
Annual report on trends in Health Statistics.

National Center for Health Statistics
U. S. Government Information | Statistics | Births | Deaths | Health | Disease | Exercise & Lifestyle

National Institutes of Health
Statistics on all areas of health, disease, and medicine. Includes births, deaths, injuries, durg use, and much more.

Vital Statistics of the United States
Detailed vital statistics data, including natality, mortality, marriage and divorce.

Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)
Statistics on youth suicide, sexual activity, and drug use.
Historical Statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States : Earliest Times to the Present : Millennial Edition
Published in 2006, this resource provides access to statistical data on American social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences - including economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration and trade.

FInding historical statistics about places and times and topics requires special searching in the catalog. Ask a librarian for help, or search for the phrase "historical statistics" with the name of the place or topic, ie: "historical statistics" AND Europe. These search results provide some context. 
Labor
Bureau of Labor Statistics
From the US Department of Labor, statistics on national interest rates, wages, spending, productivity, employment, and more.

LABORSTA
Statistics on labor issues from over 200 countries, such as unemployment, wages, hours of work, consumer price indices, and more. From the International Labour Organisation.

U.S. Department of Labor
United States Government Information | Statistics | Employment | Occupations | Workforce | Wages | Disability Resources
Women and Social Movements 1600-2000

Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 Scholar's edition (WASM)
Women and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Contains Primary Documents | Online Journal | Notable American Women (1971-2004) |Publications of Federal, State, and Local Commissions on the Status of Women between 1961 and 2005.

 
Worldwide Statistics
Eurostat Statistics Database
Statistics on the European Union and its member countries.

United Nations Global Statistics
Millenium Development Goals Report 2015 provides a final assessment of global and regional progress towards the MDGs since their endorsement in 2000. Statistics included are economic, demographic and social, gender, "big data" for official statistics, and geospatial information. 

Womenwatch
United Nations documents on women, country information, statistics, etc.

World Databank
Data and Statistics | World Development | Economics | Education | Gender | Health and Nutrition | International Finance | Population | Poverty | Debt | International Migration

World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers
Annual Military Expenditures | Arms Transfers | Armed Forces | Selected Economic Data | Military-Economic Ratios