Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
http://www.library.eiu.edu
Eastern Illinois University Logo

Music - World Music/ Ethnomusicology

D2L embed

close

Instructors: Copy the text below and paste it into the "insert stuff" area in D2L to insert this guide into your D2L class.

<iframe src="https://booth.library.eiu.edu/subjectsPlus/subjects/guide.php?subject=worldmusic&embed=t" height="800" width="820"></iframe>

Watch a short video tutorial on embedding library research guides into D2L.

Finding Music Scores and Audio

Searching the Library Catalog:
 

When searching for different types of music materials, you can use the "Narrow Your Search" function on the right side of the catalog results screen.  This is especially helpful when searching for music scores or music recordings. In the example below, the search for keywords "Beethoven Symphony No. 3" returns 380 results. On the right you will see that 236 are "music recordings" and 41 are "musical scores". 

screenshot of library catalog showing musical score limiters

Selected Print Resources

All of these resources can be found on the 4000 level (4th floor) of Booth Library.


 
Book Cover Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Call number:
ML100 .G16 1997
Book Cover
World Music: A Very Short Introduction
Call number:
ML3470 .B68 2002
 
Book Cover Ethnomusicology:
A Very Short Introduction

Call number: ML3798 .R53 2014
Book Cover Ethnomusicology: A Research and Information Guide
Call number: ML128.E8 P67 2011

 
Book Cover Music and Globalization: Critical Encounters
Call number: ML3545 .M89 2012
Book Cover The NPR Curious Listener's Guide to World Music
Call number:
ML3545 .N53 2004
 
Web Resources




 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Steve Brantley

Steve Brantley
Head of Reference Services
jsbrantley@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-6072


Picture: Bill Schultz

Bill Schultz
Cataloging Librarian and Interim Head of University Archives and Special Collections
wnschultz@eiu.edu
Office: 217 581-8457


Picture: Alyson Vaaler

Alyson Vaaler
Night Circulation Librarian
avaaler@eiu.edu
Office: 217 549-1936


Reference Desk: 217-581-6072
Email the Reference Desk

Suggested Search Terms
Stuck?  Try these search terms.  You can substitute terms to fit your research needs (i.e. Music - China can be turned into Music - Africa or Music - India). These links will return results from the library catalog on the subject. 

World Music - History and Criticism

World Music - Analysis, Appreciation

World music - Mali

World music - Influence - Bibliography

Music - India

Musicians - Africa

Folk Music - Czech Republic
Journals and Databases
The databases below will be the most useful in assisting with world music research.  Browse individual music journals here

Academic Search Complete
Broad interdisciplinary database

Ethnographic Video Online
Database offering streaming video of different anthropological topics including music, culture, and the arts.

Grove Music Online
The most comprehensive reference for all aspects of music.  Over 29,000 articles on music, musical instruments and musicians from the past and present.  This is a good starting point for all music research.

Humanities International Complete
Broad interdisciplinary database

JSTOR
Peer reviewed articles from a broad range of disciplines in the Humanities, Social Science & Field Sciences

Music Index Online
Contains surveyed data from more than 725 international music periodicals from over 40 countries in 23 languages.  Along with RILM, it is a go-to database for music research.

Project MUSE
Interdisciplinary database for Humanities and Arts

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music as well as music-related disciplines.  Dating from 1967 through the present, this database offers indexing of sources published in over 140 languages.